Using the LS IT VPN with a Mac

The LS IT VPN service has been verified to work with MacOS 10.8-10.15 (Intel-based Macs) and MacOS 11 (M1-based Macs).

How to connect to the VPN for the first time

  1. Visit the VPN web address:

    https://vpn.dss.ucdavis.edu/
     
  2. Provide your UC Davis credentials (CAS LoginID and Passphrase), and click the "Sign In" button.
  3. You will be prompted to download the VPN client software (the recommended version for your operating system will be at the top of the list). 
  4. Launch the installer and enter your administrator credentials if prompted
  5. Complete the installation procedure, accepting all of the default options.
  6. Once the installer completes, look in the Applications folder for "OpenVPN Connect" and open it.
  7. Exit out of the tour and click "OK" on the prompts for data collection and updates.
  8. Click on the toggle button to connect (the profile should read "vpn.dss.ucdavis.edu/Dynamic [bundled]") and enter your UC Davis credentials.
  9. When successful, you will see that you are “Connected” and some stat information.
  10. You will find a new OpenVPN icon in your system menu bar (upper right corner of the screen), which indicates the status of your VPN connection. The icon looks like an orange keyhole.

You can find pictorial directions here:

https://openvpn.net/vpn-server-resources/installation-guide-for-openvpn-connect-client-on-macos/

 

How to connect to the VPN AFTER the first time

  1. Find the OpenVPN icon in your system menu bar (upper right corner of the screen) or in the Applications folder. The icon looks like an orange outlined keyhole.
  2. Click on the icon, and select "Connect . . ." from the menu.
  3. You will be prompted to enter your UC Davis credentials (CAS LoginID and Passphrase).
  4. Click the "OK" button to connect to the VPN.

 

How to disconnect from the VPN

  1. Find the OpenVPN icon in your system menu bar (upper right corner of the screen). The icon looks like an orange keyhole.
  2. Click on the icon, and select "Disconnect" from the menu.